Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nmd15

My succulent needs help!

nmd15
9 years ago

I posted a while back on my succulent and was advised I was not giving him enough sunlight! (I am guilty of babying my plant, I kept it inside thinking I was protecting him from the hot sun :\) It started off as dark purple when I first got it years ago and then turned a light green and it's leaves turned down ( since I wasn't giving him much sun). I gradually increased its sunlight and now he's turning purple again, but I noticed he keeps losing his bottom leaves and his leaves are now soft to touch (they used to be stiff before increasing his sunlight). I am not sure what I'm doing wrong, I don't think I'm over watering him, I water it once a week or usually I'll wait even longer to water it. I'm a newbie when it comes to plants, but I really want to get it back to his healthy self again!

Also I noticed it has little plants growing off the bottom. Should I keep them on or cut them off? I was thinking maybe the offspring are taking too much energy from the main plant, not sure?

This post was edited by nmd15 on Sat, May 3, 14 at 12:53

Comments (7)

• nmd15
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is what he looked like originally

• nmd15
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And then this is what he looked like a few weeks back when I was advised to increase the sunlight gradually

• plantomaniac08
    9 years ago

That's an Aeonium. The "stick" that's forming is normal. They look like pinwheels over time. It looks fine to me, honestly. The purple color is normal for yours. Without enough sunlight, it will turn green again.

I'd leave the offsets on, but that's personal prefernce really.

Your potting mix could be a bit faster draining, IMO. What are you using btw?

Just a side note. Your orchid doesn't like direct sun and can burn. Phal orchids are considered "lower light" orchids.

Planto

This post was edited by plantomaniac08 on Sat, May 3, 14 at 12:59

• nmd15