Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plantomaniac08

Jade ID Needed

plantomaniac08
10 years ago

Hi folks,
I just purchased this at a local Lowes and I am in need of an ID.

I've noticed that the leaves on this one appear longer than the plain green Crassula ovata I'm used to seeing. Is this Crassula ovata 'Variegata' ? Aside from a couple of leaves, I don't see as much variegation present on this one as I've seen with other variegated jades that I found online (I am a jade novice though...).

Thanks for the help, giving this to Hubby as a birthday present so he'll have something to bonsai (other than the japanese maple he's also getting. Boy, he's spoiled!). It would be nice to tell him exactly which jade he has.

{{gwi:547777}}

{{gwi:547780}}

Comments (13)

• brodyjames_gw
    10 years ago

It sure looks like a tricolor to me! :)

Nancy

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    10 years ago

Beth,

I would have bought it name unknown, too - it's pretty.

Nancy,

I was going to call it that too, but we need Josh the Jade Trove's opinion for sure (or another one of the usual suspects), don't we?

• plantomaniac08
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Nancy,
    I found pictures of 'Tricolor' online while looking for more pictures of variegated jades. It does has quite the resemblence to 'Tricolor' doesn't it?

Jeff,
    Thanks! Maybe subconsiously I bought this this jade is a gift for myself as well... I'm not a jade person but it caught my eye last week when I was looking for myself. I bought a Crassula marginalis rubra variegata instead. Whether it's Hubby's or mine, I'll be able to enjoy it now. :D

I guess I'll wait for "Josh the Jade Trove" to reply as well just to see what he thinks. I'm leaning toward 'Tricolor' myself as of right now, Nancy (not that I don't trust or value your opinon), I just want to see what else is said about it.

Thanks both of you for your input.

Planto

• brodyjames_gw
    10 years ago

No offense taken. :)