Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
purrparlor

Succulent and slate garden

annkathryn
10 years ago

I'm new to succulents but have become smitten with them. I wanted to find a way to use them in my yard which has been completely re-landscaped after a whole house renovation. I carved out a corner near my patio for a little succulent garden. The risk of this area was that the dog would go stomping through it on her way to chase squirrels on the fence. I decided to use some of the leftover slate from the patio to protect the succulents a bit. Not being at all artistic, I experimented with some arrangements of slate and came up with the rock garden you see in the pictures. I'm thinking that as the succulents grow out over the years, the area will fill in nicely.

I didn't find many inspiration pictures on the Internet, so perhaps this will inspire someone else. {{gwi:551835}}From Yard - May 2013
{{gwi:551836}}From Yard - May 2013
{{gwi:551837}}From Yard - May 2013
{{gwi:551838}}From Yard - May 2013

The area to the right of the path also has succulents, unprotected for now. {{gwi:551839}}From Yard - May 2013

Comments (15)

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago

Very nice . I like your vertical placement of the rock. It is something that I have wanted to do for awhile but things keep getting in the way. You have stumbled on the style of rock gardening called Crevice gardens. It was originally developed in Checkloslavakia. They were using rocks as they organized themselves in the karst countryside. Google "Crevice Gardens" and you will see a lot of similar examples like what you have done. If you didn't stumble on this term before, you might really like this. I was blown away. The only draw back is it take a WHOLE BUNCH OF ROCK.

Man I want rock, lots of rock.

Here is a link that might be useful: Google images of Crevice Gardens

• annkathryn
    Original Author
    10 years ago