Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ostrich0001

What is this flowering succulent plant?

ostrich
14 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to succulents, so please bear with me! A couple of years ago, I was given a couple of cuttings of a succulent plant by a friend. I had no idea what it was, and so I just stuck it into a pot with soil. Nothing much happened for a while until last year, when it finally started to grow. Yesterday, it even started to bloom! It has these huge flower buds which would burst open to form this gigantic, pink flower so I could not help but to whip out my camera to take some photos:

{{gwi:556214}}

It appears to be slightly fragrant even! There are several other buds on this plant too. The succulent leaves are quite soft and require some staking. As you may notice, the buds are formed along the serrated edge of the succulent leaves. What on earth is it please? How should I be caring for it? You advice is much appreciated!

Comments (12)

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    14 years ago

Could be an Epiphyllum--there are quite a few species and hundreds (or thousands) of hybrids. Mine started blooming this week.

• laura1
    14 years ago

You might (hehe) be doing something right already since it has grown and BLOOMED!
    Very nice!

• prayerrock
    14 years ago

I would agree that since it is blooming so well you seem to be doing a fine job caring for it! I would guess it to be an epie of some sort...or maybe a rhipsalis.

• gardenbear1
    14 years ago

it looks like a epie to me and your doing a great job with it, its still to early for mine to bloom but with the weather warming up I might get some to start budding soon I hope

Bear

• ostrich
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you everyone for your help! I very much appreciate it!

I had no idea what an "epiphyllum" was before, but I guess now I have learned!!! :-)

BTW, it sounds to me that epiphyllums don't typically bloom very well? Am I getting the correct message here???