Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
david90531

ID for this Echeveria please!

DavidL.ca
9 years ago

Newbie here!
I got this from a local nursery and on the tag it says Echeveria (Desert Peacock), but I couldn't find the actual name or specie for that nickname. Is this a Echeveria Peacockii?

Also, is this succulent plant going to flower??

Comments (6)

• KittieKAT
    9 years ago

Its kinda stretched out cause it needs more light, but i Beleive it is about to flower. Also the mix YOU have in the pot is hard as a rock, please consider repotting it into a new mix of 50% cacti+succulent mix with added 50% perlite for BETTER drainage it will benefit YOUR plants BETTER , goodluck hunnie, I'm sure someone else Will chime in with the id of the plant

• DavidL.ca
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks! Yes I'm planning to repot very soon. This pot is wayy too tiny for this seemingly mature plant anyway. Okay I have the succulent mix already, just have to get the perlite. People also suggest sand, is it necessary?

Yeah I live in an apartment so I don't get that much sun, I try to get them as much air and sun as they can, hopefully it will do okay!

Here are some of my other beginner succulent collections:

• spapa
    9 years ago

It's pretty tricky to identify with it being so etiolated (stretched from lack of sun). It tends to make the leaves lose their shape, and the plant will lose its color, making it tricky to say which species/hybrid it is. It certainly is an Echeveria, possibly peacockii or runyonii. I'd love to see another pic in a few weeks when it's put on some normal growth. And yes, it is going to flower!

Just a couple of notes: when you put it in the sun, don't do so all at once or it will burn. It needs bright sun, but you have to adjust it slowly over several days. If you do that and still see it burning, just give it a little less sun for a few more days and then try again - plants that have been really deprived of light can be very sensitive.