Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mimmim13

How to trim a Top Heavy Jade

MimMim13
11 years ago

Jades0001.JPG

My Top Heavy Jade recently fell over. I re-potted it into a larger pot (the original pot is seen next to it in Photo1) using a cactus soil mix with high drainage. The plant had the largest leaves I have ever seen on a jade. The largest of the leaves grew directly off the main stems but most broke off.

As you can see in Photo 2 and 3 - I am currently propping it up until it reestablishes. I was told to use a string with elasticity to hold it up, but therefore I am not able to make the heavy stem straight. There are only 2 main stems. Photo 2 shows stem1 leaning far over. Photo 3 shows stem2 splits into 2 weighty pieces. Photo2 also shows the scars where the large stem leaves broke off. Each main stem has other branches that extend about 5-7 inches.

I know that this plant needs trimming but I have never done it before. Looking for specific instructions.

I have read to cut to the lateral stem - what does this mean? How much do I cut off? My desire is to have thick healthy stems that can hold up without props and to regrow the HUGE leaves that were growing directly off the stems before they broke in the topple over.

Comments (24)

• MimMim13
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Photo 2

• MimMim13
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Photo 3

• elichka
    11 years ago

I would also recommend you to read about gritty soil, yours has too much peat which promotes rot. I also think you don't need such a huge pot( does it have a drainage hole?). I understand that you picked that pot to balance the plant. But after pruning you don't need such a huge pot. Generally jades have very shallow root system, so big pot+peat leads to rot. Unglazed clay pots are better choice to dry up quickly. It is better to choose pot according to root mass.

Inna

• MimMim13
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you!