Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
misselle_gw

Euphorbia Lactea possible rot??

Misselle
9 years ago

Haya! So I'm kinda new to gardening in general, however have take a great interest in succulents and cactus. Anyway, I got this little beauty about three weeks ago, and I noticed a few days ago these horrid brown spots appearing, today I notice they are getting bigger and there is discolouration around them. I'm freaking out! :( From what I've read (pretty much everywhere, and now I'm overwhelmed) it might be rot and I need to cut it out??? I really don't know what I'm doing, but I don't want to lose this guy Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Comments (12)

• KittieKAT
    9 years ago

I just had to cut 2 huge peices outta my grafted Lactea crest because it had this big Brown spots that where flaking and drying out and spreading! I brought the thing home with ME cause i knew it was prob gonna die and get thrown away if i didn't take him home LOL, but i cut the pieces out and he's callousing over fine im sure yours will do the same.

• Misselle
    Original Author
    9 years ago

So just the brown spots, or the discoloured bits too? If you look close (at my crappy blurry pic lol!) the red discolouration runs down a bit lower then the brown spots...

• Crenda 10A SW FL
    9 years ago

Are the spots hard or soft? I was told the hard spots are a result of too much direct sun and will not cause the plant harm. Ugly - yes, but harm, no. I just wanted to mention that before you started cutting them out. Our E. lactea experts will chime in soon with better advice.

Here's what my light colored lactea crest looks like. I have several spots like this. You can see a little red around the brown spots too.

• Misselle
    Original Author
    9 years ago