Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cheekhee

Just bought these and they are dying...HELP!

CheeKhee
10 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm new to succulents and I must say, I love them! I received some in the mail last week (it took 7days to get to me) and I followed the instructions for after mailing care. But I am pretty sure I am doing something wrong.

I carefully packed in the loose dirt in each of the pots (a lot fell out do to handling) and I watered them as well. Per instructions, I kept them indoors because they were shut in a box for 7 whole days. I moved them outside in the shade today, and they look pretty sad. Any ideas how I can save them?

Comments (10)

• emerald1951
    10 years ago

Hi....I don't have very good luck with these kinds of plants,
    I seem to always over water them, they do not like to to wet for any lengh of time at all, and they like lots of sun, so they don't do well at all in my house not enough sun....
    the soil they are in looks like alot of peat...try a cactus mix fast draining, move to more sun, slowing so not to sun burn them and keep on the dry side after watering let them dry out a bit...I am sure others will give advice also.....good luck...linda..............

• pirate_girl
    10 years ago

Hi,

Did these plants have roots? Did the instructions say to water the plants after potting?

Often when potting succulents we do it dry, especially when dealing w/ cuttings or plants w/ few roots.

• CheeKhee
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for your advice Linda!