Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
idonahue

succulents in desert terrarium

idonahue
13 years ago

Hello,

I am very new at keeping succulents and have a question about indoor lighting.

I recently converted an old TV into a desert terrarium and I am keeping a few succulents in it. Specifically, these 3:

alpenglow/vera higgins "graptosedum"

baby's necklace "crassula"

green goddess/haageana "echeveria"

I chose succulents over cacti because I will be adding leopard geckos and there is less chance of them being injured on a succulent.

My question is concerning lighting. I am using a 50w UVA bulb right now. This provides the proper light and heat for the geckos but I am concerned if it is ok for the plants. The enclosure temperature is about 80-85F during the day and drops to about 75-80F at night. Here is the exact bulb:

50w repti bulb

Is this light sufficient for succulents? If not, can you recommend suitable lighting? Unfortunately due to the size of the TV I can't place it anywhere in my house where it gets lots of direct sunlight. Is this a bad idea in general and should I just plan on keeping fake plants on the enclosure?

Thank you so much!

Comments (11)

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    13 years ago

'Desert' and 'terrarium' are mutually exclusive - you can't have a successful one with the other. Cacti and other succulents needs air flow and shouldn't be, for the most part, subjected to the humidity that a terrarium has. This growing environment is not suitable for the plants you have.

• joscience
    13 years ago

Those plants all want way, way more light than a 50W bulb will provide in addition to any ventilation/water problems you may have.