Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
basicpoke

alternatives to pumice?

BasicPoke
9 years ago

Hello, I have been growing cacti and succulents for about 20 years with varied success. Never paid much attention to the soil. I am trying my darndest to start using a proper potting soil for my cactus, but cannot find some of the things people recommend, especially pumice. I have not found anything like pumice. There is no Dry Stall a the stores with horse stuff. I could probably find aquarium rocks but doesn't seem quite the same. I do have perlite, vermiculite, a wide variety of compost, and pea gravel. I have plenty of clay pots that I could break up, but a lot of work.

Any other ideas what I could use instead of pumice for the drainage material? If there a certain brand of cat litter that would be good?
Thanks
Ron

Comments (44)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    9 years ago

Turface MVP, Scoria (lava rock). DE (hard Diatomaceous Earth) - Napa Auto Parts product #8822 (if I remember rightly).

No vermiculite.

Josh

• nil13
    9 years ago

Scoria is also called cinder and can sometimes be found in 1/4" or 3/8".

I have some cacti in pea gravel mixed with calcined clay (turface mvp). Seems to work pretty well. You can find out more information about it bybsearching Missouri gravel bed.

• pirate_girl
    9 years ago

Perlite would be just fine, please don't use sand at all. Vermiculite holds water, that is to say, helps to retain water, so you don't want that for succulents either.

Perlite can be found at most big box stores. Folks here often suggest rinsing it before using (tho' I never bother).

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    9 years ago

And for even better results, use granite chips, which can be found in a number of places, one of them being feed stores. It can come in a variety of sizes, from #1 to #6 or larger - the smaller the number the smaller the grit. Make sure you ask for poultry grit, not poultry scratch.