Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fluffyclou

Is this plant ok or is it rotting?

FluffyClou
10 years ago

This was given to me in a pot. I have been watering it and I realized that the the plant has been sitting on water for a while. It was placed in a pot with holes, and this pot was placed in a pot without holes - so it's like a pot in a pot.

I took it out and I am not sure if it is ok. Does it look okay or is it rotting? How do I know if it is rotting?

Thanks! I am new to this and I am hoping this plant will survive.

Can anyone also help me ID this plant? Thanks!

Comments (18)

• FluffyClou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is the other picture of the plant.

I apologize to this plant for over watering it ~~

• FluffyClou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So I took them out of the pot and they look like this. Are they suppose to have roots, or is it really like this?

• dorianscale3
    10 years ago

Just to be safe, I would make fresh, hygenic cuts at the base of the stem and let them callous over for 2-3 days. Then replant in fast draining soil.

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    10 years ago

Nick's advice assumes that that stem is viable - it looks to me you have to cut high up on the stem to reach healthy tissue, but I hope I'm wrong and Nick's right.

• pirate_girl
    10 years ago

As an added safeguard, take some household cinnamon & sprinkle it on the cut ends after letting them callous, then shake off the excess cinnamon & plant DRY.

Cinnamon acts as an anti-fungal & is cheaper than rooting hormone which often contains anti-fungal for the same reasons.

• paul_
    10 years ago

Alas! Jeff neglected to mention just what he means by "high up" or how you will know you have reached "healthy tissue." So I will take a stab at reading his mind.