Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulaz_gw

What causes the splitting?

PaulaZ
9 years ago

I bought what I thought were healthy Baby Toes but 2 days later this is what I see. I repotted the poor thing in a clay pot with a mix of C&S soil/perlite/greensand. I did water it the next day very sparingly. it is sitting in west window. Help is appreciated as I am a novice and need it!

Comments (12)

• KittieKAT
    9 years ago

ISN'T it funny how WE ALL think we've found the best of the bunch AND finally when we calm down get home AND inspect EVERY imperfection drives us maaaaad!!! Wish i knew the answer to this question i honestly think it's from too much water that they expand beyond THERE capacity of their fleshy little bodies and tear apart, but that's just a guess. Hope u find the answer you're looking for. Goodluck

• KittieKAT
    9 years ago

ISN'T it funny how WE ALL think we've found the best of the bunch AND finally when we calm down get home AND inspect EVERY imperfection drives us maaaaad!!! Wish i knew the answer to this question i honestly think it's from too much water that they expand beyond THERE capacity of their fleshy little bodies and tear apart, but that's just a guess. Hope u find the answer you're looking for. Goodluck

• PaulaZ
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Still looking for expert advice about my TOES! A couple have withered at soil line while I see new growth on a couple. BUT I have another one that split?????

• spapa
    9 years ago

I've never grown baby toes, but I will say that on some plants splitting is a sign of overwatering. Withering at the soil line also could be a sign of root rot which comes from overwatering. About how often are you watering right now? Baby toes need very little water, even less than other types of succulents.

• eaglerider
    9 years ago

Yep, overwatering

• Sundewd
    9 years ago

These shouldn't be watered until they shrivel and begin to collapse. Most of these mesembs split when given too much water.