Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sjpoolowner

best succulent groundcover?

sjpoolowner
13 years ago

Hi all,

I recently became very interested in succulents and am planning to get rid of my lawn and plant succulents instead.

My first project would be planting groundcover succulents around the tree in front of my house. Can anyone recommend hardy, low-maintenance succulents that can be planted? I've read about ice plants but would like to know some more options.

I'm really new to gardening and can't actually spend much time on it, so low maintenance is really important to me :-)

Would appreciate any help. I live in San Jose (zone 9). Thanks!

Comments (11)

• ilikemud_2007
    13 years ago

hi from Georgia,
    It would be fantastic to make your yard a tapestry of different sedum and ice plant. There are hundreds to pick from and I would imagine that most would be hardy in your area given proper drainage. Some are more tolerant of foot traffic than others and you can mix all sorts of other things too. Oh I would have a field day if I could do that here.
    Most succulents like full sun - what type of tree were you thinking of planting under?

• sjpoolowner
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi. Thanks for the response. We've just planted a ginkgo tree so we won't have shading issue for a while.

I've heard ice plants are very invasive so it may not be a good choice although they are actually popular and attractive. Wondering if there are any that can be used for ground cover and not so invasive.

• pirate_girl
    13 years ago

You'd likely do better dealing in Latin botanical names'cause personally, in my part of the country, Ice Plant can mean 3 different plants.

Tho' I realize you wish it to be low maintenance, it sounds like you really want NO maintenance.

I'm not sure replacing lawn for succulents will be that at all, especially if one knows little or nothing abt gardening.

• deep___roots
    13 years ago