Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicky5282

New to succulents

Nicky5282
11 years ago

Hi (please images below in photo bucket)

I am new to succulents and don't have much of a green thumb! On Saturday I planted two pots with various succulents. I used regular miracle gro soil / perlite (50/50). I am keeping this outside. They are getting about 1.5/2 hours of direct sunlight a day.

Several of the plants are getting brown spots (pic 3 and 4). One plant the leaves are looking sad, the edges are curling (pic 1 and 2). My dog tore this plant out of the pot on Sunday, ripped some leaves out, and I replanted. And one plant, one of it's leaves looks almost wrinkled (pic 5).

What am I doing wrong and what can I do to keep from killing my plants? If you respond to please use photo numbers as I really don't know the plants names!

http://photobucket.com/nicky5282

Thank you!

Comments (6)

• Microthrix
    11 years ago

They all look fine, except for 1 which just looks as if it is healing from damage, 3 looks normal, 4 looks like it just has some scars, which will go away as the plant grows more leaves and drops old ones, and 5 looks like some of the bloom was rubbed off ... i recomend maybe a bit more light and not to use miracle grow potting mix as it contains peat (bad bad bad) and maybe make Al Gritty's mix ... im just a youngster just really getting into succulents ... wait till a more trusted person comes along and confirms things

• stonesriver
    11 years ago

Nicky:

Your plants will do fine in the 50/50 mix as long as you don't tend to overwater. However, if overwatering is a problem, you'll need to switch to at least 75% perlite or another medium.

Linda

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    11 years ago

Nicky,

The first rule of Fight Club is you don't talk about Fight Club. That was reworded from the first rule of Succulentism - when in doubt about watering, don't water.

Welcome to this fabulous group of plants and our party here.

• bikerdoc5968 Z6 SE MI