Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
celeste_jackson1792466

Repotting issues

Celeste
9 years ago

I'm new to owning cacti & succulents so I'm not at all sure what I'm doing wrong. I've repotted two different kinds of succulents and even though I used cactus soil and appropriate pots for their size, both times they looked fine for a few days then died so fast there was nothing I could do to help them. I mean they completely changed color and collapsed within two or less days. How do I keep my other cacti from suffering the same fate????

Comments (23)

• turtlewalker34205
    9 years ago

A photo would help to see what it is.

• pirate_girl
    9 years ago

Did you water them after you repotted? That could do it. Can you pls. say what kinds of plants?

• savant
    9 years ago

When you re-pot Cacti or Succulents you should not water them for at least 10 to 14 days to give the roots time to repair themselves after taking them out of the pot. When you star watering after a couple of weeks do it gradually.

• penfold2
    9 years ago

I've never had issues with immediate watering of repotted plants, as long as the soil is sufficiently porous. My guess would be that the soil is too water retentive, or the plants are being placed in full sun before they've had time to reroot. Use a porous soil, and keep the plants protected from harsh conditions until they begin growing again.

-Chris

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    9 years ago

savant,

That's incorrect - several days after repotting is fine for watering.

• Celeste
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Yeah in both cases I watered immediately after repotting but did allow the soil to drain. That's helpful though I'll make sure to wait longer to water from now on. I'm not sure what the plant names were but one looked like this

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    9 years ago

Kalanchoe blossfeldiana variety

• Joe1980
    9 years ago