Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
a_shau

Need help learning how to care for Sempervivum

a_shau
10 years ago

Hi, I recently got these from someone who lives in the Mission. I put them outside in my yard because I was advised that these are outdoor plants that thrive on neglect. I'm new to succulents so I have bunch of questions.

1. I think they started turning a little red/brown. Is that ok? (Here's what they looked like when I first got them: http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/namegal/msg061943563722.html) The pots are about 6 inches in diameter.

2. I believe these are a kind of hen & chicks - sempervivum. When can I take the chicks off and plant them? Can I do that now or are they too small?

3. When I do that, should I plant them outside or inside? Right now in San Francisco, the days are sunny but don't go past 65 (although I feel it gets hot in the sun), and then half the week it's foggy and cold at night.

4. When I cut the chick off, should I let the end dry out or callous over, like with some other cacti before planting, or can I plant it in the soil right away?

5. When I cut the chick off, where should I cut it? closer to the baby's rosette, or closer to the hen's stem, so that it leaves a longer stem to then plant?

6. Lastly, where should I put this hen? Some sites say in full sun, some say in the shade. I have spots in my yard that get all sorts of light - bright morning and noon light; shade; noon and late afternoon sun. Which spot is the
best? Also, is the current swing in temperature between day and night ok for the plant?

Whew! In advance, thanks all for your help!

Comments (4)

• norma_2006
    10 years ago