Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ailing Desert Rose

Posted by hephaestoskin Maryland (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 26, 13 at 10:29

Hi, this is my first time posting to these forums.

I bought a Desert Rose from Home Depot a few days ago. I know that is not ideal, but I couldn't find one anywhere else near me. It was pot-bound so I replanted it into Espoma brand organic cacti and succulent soil and gave it a light watering of filtered, de-chloronated water with a touch of Miracle Grow for cacti and succulents (in case it needed a bit of food faster than organic could provide). There is a nice and substantial gravel drainage layer at the bottom and screening over the drainage hole. The root mass was barely touched so I didn't shock the plant while flowering. I have it by a very sunny window and no A/C on so the temp never falls below 70F and humidity is low.

However, the leaves continue to drop (as they were in the store) and I'm not sure what to do. Should I remove the flowers to reduce plant stress? I have no idea how to recognize issues by the leaves in this species and I REALLY like this plant.

Thanks for any advice you can give!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ailing Desert Rose

Hello, unpot and remove that gravel layer - it does not promote drainage; in fact, it does exactly the opposite when the finer particulate above the gravel lodges between those larger particles.

Secondly, the pot looks quite large for a plant of this size.

Thirdly, it's going to need outdoor light for best results.

Josh

o

First, welcome to this forum. Next, there is an Adenium forum where you may also find some great information: http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/adenium/