Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alicia1_gw

What are some small grey insects?

alicia1
16 years ago

Hi, I am new to this forum, and would like some help. I am fairly new to the cacti and succulent collecting. I have now ran into some trouble. I have discovered some small greyish insects in some of my cacti, and also some mealy bugs. Does anyone know what the grey insects could be? They are not seen until you move some of the dirt and they then start moving around, they move fairly fast. Help please. What can they be and what should I do. I don't want to lose my cacti. Thanks Alicia

Comments (6)

• birdsnblooms
    16 years ago

Alicia, are the 'grayish' bugs living in the soil or on leaves?
    If in soil, they sounds like fungus gnats..Actually, fg's are black, but for some reason when running around, they have a silvery color.
    To rid gnats, make sure soil dries out thoroghly..Cactus and succulent soil shouldn't stay wet anyway..Fresh air keeps fg's at bay..
    Where are your C&S's? In or outside? They do great outside in summer..if you can't place outside, then keep a small fan running to circulate air/and an open window.
    Fg's are bad, but mealy is a million times worse..You need to focus on ridding the mealy..they'll eat away at your plants in no time.
    One solution is rubbing alcohol. Swipe infested areas using cotton balls or Q-tips. You'll need to do this a couple times a wk for 2-3 wks.
    There are insecticides that can also be used.
    On the Geranium forum, ppl have been breaking up scented geraniums..they vow this rids mealy..or keeps them away. It's almost worth giving it a try..
    If it were my plant/s, I'd unpot, clean out pot, hose off plants and add new soil..It's important using a well-draining soil w/C&S's. If it's too heavy you'll have nothing but problems. What type of soil are your C&S's potted in? What size pots? What type of light are plants getting? Toni

• alicia1
    Original Author
    16 years ago