Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
succulent help?

Posted by Tingz none (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 16, 14 at 14:25

I'm brand new to the forum and to succulents. I got this little guy about a week ago along with a couple others. Wanted to put them in a bigger pot but noticed some grey-ish spots on a few of the leaves on this little guy. It doesn't seem to be on any of the other plants or any of the other stalks of this one. Is it a problem? Do I need to keep it away from the other plants? Another pot or whole separate room? Thank you in advance for any advice you may have.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: succulent help?

Looks like scale insects---isolate it from your healthy plants; keep it in its same pot and treat with a systemic insecticide.

o

Thank you for responding! I am brand new to all of this. Is there an insecticide you would recommend? I thought I saw somewhere online that someone used rubbing alcohol or dish soap on a Q-tip to deal with bugs. Would that work?

As far as isolating, How far should I keep it from the other plants? My plants are indoors in a small apartment.

This post was edited by Tingz on Wed, Jul 16, 14 at 15:30

o

Most folks use a systemic insecticide because it's translocated throughout the entire plant, thus any sucking insect will meet its end when it decides to take a nibble.
Rubbing alcohol is usually reserved for soft-bodied insects such as aphids or the dreaded mealies. Scale insects generally have two types-- crawlers and non-crawlers; the non-crawlers are protected by the waxy "scale"(which acts as a defacto "fingernail" protecting the little buggers) and thus hard to eliminate w/o a systemic. I always isolate any new plant I add to my collection for a month in its own room.
Many people on this forum use Merit/Marathon(Imidacloprid). I use this in my greenhouse ONLY since it is a Neonicotinoid and has been suspected as a factor in colony collapse disorder in honeybees.

o