Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help identifying succulents and cactus, please!

Posted by Sbgibbons California (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 22, 14 at 15:29

Sorry for posting this if it has already been posted, but I'm new to this and I'm not sure what to search to find what I'm looking for. I'm new to gardening, but it's something that I definitely enjoy. I'm having an issue though because when I buy a new cactus or succulent sometimes it's only labeled as "cactus" or "succulent" and I've tried identifying them, but I'm not having any luck, so if y'all could, please help me! :)

The succulent in the red pot, I've read is either a Mexican snowball or chicks and hens. The trio in the clay pot- the tall blue succulent is senecio.. something. There are so many senecios. Haha. I have no idea what the green one is and the other one looks like a Mexican snowball, but it's on a stem. And the cactus that is in the yellow pot I think it's a ball cactus, but I'm not sure.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help identifying succulents and cactus, please!

Red pot is an echeveria. Green one in clay pot is a sedum. Don't know rest.

o

hi! the white one in the clay pot ooks like graptopetalum "white ghost", your sencio is a "blue chalk sticks" and the one in the red pot is an echeveria as winterfell says, so it could be mexican snowball, definitely not hens and chicks but it also looks like a million other echeverias. the green one in the clay pot looks like "pork and beans" that has not gotten in the sun which is why it is all green and not blushing red.

o

Red pot is most likely Echeveria elegans. Clay pot has two sedums at the front, the green one is Sedum rubrotinctum "aurora" or "jelly bean" I think. The plant at the back is senecio mandraliscae aka. blue chalk stick.

I'm not cactus expert sorry.

o

Thank y'all very much. Y'all have helped tremendously. I'm going to Google all of these names and see the turn out.