Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
_eee

Old gardener trying to learn new tricks

_eee
9 years ago

Hi all, I am 10 years new to the desert (Indio) and I am still learning how to garden out here. My first love is growing Adeniums (Desert Roses) and Brugmansias (Angel Trumpets) but I also grow lot of other plants. I have had no trouble growing cactus and I do well with succulents until summer when the temps rise. I have tried watering only when my water meter show dry, I have tried watering once a week then twice a week but I still lose most of them and by the end of summer I start all over. Any secrets or suggestions you would like to share would be soooo appreciated.
Thank you, Dottie

Comments (4)

• mingtea
    9 years ago

Hi Dottie, I had a rough time learning how to grow plants in the desert and I can still say I'm on the curve... I have a few things still croaking at the height of summer before the monsoons hit.
    I can say it's not only a matter of watering when dry, but choosing a medium that drains appropriately, how much water you apply at what time of the day (I do evenings), and sun exposure. I cluster plants that do well under the same conditions for efficiency. Don't know about water meters and what they deem as "dry," but some cacti like to be quite dry before watering. Lots of helpful people on here that could tell you their experiences with certain plants if you ask (pics help).
    Hope you figure it out! For every healthy plant I currently have, there is a swath of compost that got me there.

-Ming

• hijole
    9 years ago

Hi Dottie, Well I guess you enjoy challenges, I kinda responded to this on my post but it deserves another response on here, your right about the cactus part and having too start over after summer makes perfect sense with the heat out there.