Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beetee2

New at this: how do I treat a discolored Echeveria leaf?

beetee2
9 years ago

Hello. This is my first time here, and I'm brand new at gardening. I obtained a frilly echeveria hybrid called "Gorgon's Ghost" about two weeks ago. Since planting, it looks fine and happy, a pale green, except for one large lower leaf. This leaf had two fresh-looking surface cracks in it when I got it (as if it had been damaged while being moved at the nursery), and it has since developed a soft black spot which is expanding, and now the leaf seems to be turning yellow. Please advise as to what is going on, and whether I should take any action--I don't know whether this is normal growth, disease, or a symptom of something that needs to change. Thanks for clueing me in!

Comments (8)

• beetee2
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's a shot that shows the whole plant...

• DavidL.ca
    9 years ago

I'm not sure if the black spot has anything to do with the crack on the leaf. It might be a sunburn but depends how long it has been black, usually sunburns will callus over time and become white/light brown-ish. But if that is soft and you said it's expanding, then it might be rot problem.. I would suggest to check the roots and see if there's rotting there. Also, it looks like this is planted in the ground, and it looks a bit over"potted", but I can't really tell from just this picture

• beetee2
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the reply. The black spot has been there for a week or ten days. It has been expanding. The whole-leaf discoloration is new in the last couple of days. The plant is in the ground: I don't know what over-potted means (as I said, I'm new at this), so please fill me it.

If it is rot, would it be appropriate for me to remove the leaf from the plant?

• DavidL.ca
    9 years ago