Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cactus identification (Mammillaria?)

Posted by riveratnight 9 (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 5, 14 at 23:47

Hello! Today I found a very nice cactus at the grocery store for very cheap, so of course I could not resist adding it to my collection. However, none of the cacti sold there are labeled and I have no idea what it is, other than I'm pretty sure it's some type of Mammillaria. It's about the size of a softball. I was hoping someone here might have an idea. I can take more photos if needed.

Also, I don't think I've posted here before. Hi! I'm new to collecting cacti, with a tiny but growing collection of about a dozen, but I have been bit by the bug hard, lol. Hopefully I'll be around a bit.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cactus identification (Mammillaria?)

Oh my I have the same one and has been wondering about its ID! At least I think it's the same.. I don't think it's a Mammillaria though. Could it be a Parodia?

o

I'm not sure. I was sifting through Cacti Guide and think it might be a Mammillaria varieaculeata (it looks a little like the first pic), but I will start sifting through the Parodias and see if I can't find a closer match. Hopefully someone will identify it for us! Has yours flowered at all? That might help narrow it down.

Here is a link that might be useful: Mammillaria varieaculeata

o

Nope mine is quite new so no flowers yet..
I'm on Cacti Guide too haha! I found these two that seem like it:
Parodia neohorstii
Parodia rutilans

Although some pictures are drastically different from the others..

o

I don't think they're P. neohorstii. The spines are very similar but the body of the cactus is wrong. Looking at them vertically, that one has ridges from crown to bottom and the spines are in straight vertical lines on those ridges, whereas ours have bumps that are offset from each other and the spines grow from the bumps.