Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happycamel

Corking or More Serious?

happycamel
10 years ago

I've been growing these cactii for over 8 years now (I started them from seed) but for the past 3 I've been abroad and my mother had been tending to them. I fear they haven't had enough light or water, but perhaps they are just aging. I tested the tap water and it is definitely a high PH. I believe that if I mix in a little stale coffee with the water, that should lower it...? Is that worth doing?

I've looked online to identify the malady (or maladies) and it looks like corking, but seems excessive. Is there something that would cause this much corking? Or is there possibly something else wrong? It's only really affected them in the last year or two. Maybe they just missed me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (11)

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago

Could it be sunburn from watering in the bright sunlight? they are also etiolated. One could cut the tops off just below where they bulb out nicely, callus for several day after a dusting with cinnamon them, and plant them in a fast draining mix.. mist, don't water till you feel resistance. Some are even making roots already. The would get rid of some of the scarring and give it a healthier appearance as long as you give them enough sun to maintain their plumpness. I might cut The bottom segment somewhat close to the ground in hopes that it should pup.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago

I am hoping that this url pulls up right . At the bottom of the page it has a good photo of sun burn . Some of the high altitude cactus live in areas with trees and more rain in the summer. they get Bright shade not full day sun and it is not necessarily brutally hot.

I burnt my Astrophytum ornatum. It had been fine where it was till it got 104. ooops. One day and that was all it took. to get some scarring. I saw it so I moved it fairly quickly. Character marks. Poor thing has a lot of character.