Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennyclsun

Help! My Rosette Succulent is dying. what's wrong?

jennyclsun
9 years ago

Dear friends!

I have killed just about every succulent i have ever tried raising... This one is my latest and I REALLY want to make sure it was looked after... but as usual... after a few days....the leaves at the bottom dried up....

what is wrong with it?

how do i fix this?

*SOBS* save my succulent please! :(

Comments (21)

• deva33 Z8 Atlanta
    9 years ago

sometimes it is okay to loose the bottom leaves.

The first thing people on this forum are going to talk about is your soil and how much you are watering it. I am a novice and can only share my personal experiences with you. If I had that plant I would get it in some fast draining soil. The bag stuff from the store is not fast draining enough and will quickly lead to root rot. I cut mine with perlite and lava rock. I water them when I plant them then don't water again for a few weeks.

I hope this helps and that more experiences and knowledgeable members provide their advise.

• jennyclsun
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you Deva33 :)

I am using a mix of soil and stones to put my succulent above... I just was alarmed to find so many leaves at the bottom suddenly dry up like that in just a few days!

If anyone else has advice, please do share :) im all ears! :D

• deva33 Z8 Atlanta
    9 years ago

what kind of stones? Most people will suggest to cut the soil with 50% or more perlite.

• DavidL.ca
    9 years ago

bottom leaves drying and wilting is normal for echeveria, could you post a picture of the plant from above? Your plant looks rather healthy, I wouldn't worry too much but definitely find a suitable soil and pot for it and make sure you research on watering.

• jennyclsun
    Original Author
    9 years ago