Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maddie38

Sick Aloe help!

maddie38
9 years ago

I have a beautiful Aloe, and I am just doing something wrong... Her leaves are drooping over. I am new at this so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

This post was edited by maddie38 on Tue, Aug 19, 14 at 5:23

Comments (11)

• LilBit7765
    9 years ago

Do her leaves feel soft? And how wet is your soil?

• kuroc
    9 years ago

Your soil looks to peaty you need to pot it in some thing more gritty.

A mix I'm using now is 3 parts perlite, 2 part oil dry, 1 part turface (3 parts oil dry works the same I think), and 1 part composted cow manure.

A note on oil dry make sure it will remain stable after being wet then dry for hundreds of times.

A way I have learned on this forum to test this is to put some in a ziplock bag with water then put it in the freezer let it freeze and defrost. If it still holds it shape and has not turned to mush it's ok to use.

I got my oil dry at walmart.
    I hope this helps.

• maddie38
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for your help. Her leaves are not soft I am using miracle gro cactus mix for the soil. She is one of my rescue plants.

Thanks

• LilBit7765
    9 years ago

MG soil alone is just WAY too water retentive. You should at the very least add half perlite to the mix

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    9 years ago

And with that particular soil you have, 75/25, perlite vs.soil, would not be a bad thing at all. You need to remove that plant right now and let it dry out a couple of days. Repot in the suggested porous mix and don't water, just mist the plant every few days. It should be in warm, semi-sun (though they can take full sun, they just need to get used to it) with air circulation.

• maddie38
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This soil feels cold and damp to me. She has not been watered at all. I was afraid to take her out of the pot but I think she needs to dry out and different soil.