Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heckabore

Hatiora Salicomiodes/Drunkard's Dream Needs Help!

Debbie
16 years ago

When I was visiting my in-laws a few months ago, who live in the Southern Calif desert, I bought a cool-looking succulent labeled hatiora salicomoides (drunkard's dream). I live in SF Bay area, so I keep it indoors in a bright room with windows on the east and west sides. I water it only when it is really dry--but it is looks miserable. It's dropping lots of little branchlets.

What am I doing wrong? do you have any suggestions?

Thanks, Hecka

Comments (14)

• red_sea_me
    16 years ago

hey Hecka,
    I'm still learning Hatiora myself but here goes...

They are epiphytic jungle cacti, they do like humidity and some water. Is it in good draining soil with some acidity? I dont think they like to become "really dry". No direct sun either (bright light is ok).

For soil consider perlite, orchid bark, nutra peat (coir/peat mix)(there are people who do not use peat for various reasons, I dont know of a better way to introduce acidic organic matter into my soils than this), cacti soil, coarse sand, compost, bonemeal, leaf mold, etc. Keep in mind these things grow epiphyticaly in trees (on cliffs etc) So they are very capable of growing in whatever collects in there location (and then decomposes). Well draining is crucial though for longterm health.

If the pieces that fell from your plant look healthy, shove them back into the soil and hope they root. Or place them in small pots and reserve for later trades with people here.

lastly for indepth information on hatiora and other epiphytic cacti and plants check Epiforums, there are some seriously smart (and nice) people there.

hope it helps?
    -Ethan

oh and if you have liquid B-1 give some to you plant next watering.

• mr_subjunctive
    16 years ago