Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashton89

What's going on? Problems with "Fred Ives" and "Donkey Tails"

Ashton89
10 years ago

Two different problems with two different plants. The first my "Fred Ives" (sorry I'm not good with Latin names) has dry tips on the leaves. They feel crunchy and very dry. The whole leaf eventually turns this way. This plant was thoroughly watered about 2 weeks ago but hasn't since.

http://i42.tinypic.com/mb00i0.jpg
[IMG]http://i39.tinypic.com/2s9duh4.jpg[/IMG]

The second plant my "Donkey Tails" have leaves that feel soft and are wrinkly in appearance. They also are growing with the "beans" father apart and straggly looking. The leaves were close together and compact like normal when I bought the plant.

[IMG]http://i43.tinypic.com/344zcz9.jpg[/IMG]

Both plants are inside plants. They sit in a south-western facing window.

Also apologize for photo links, I can't figure out how to place them.

Comments (7)

• Colleen E
    10 years ago

With G. 'Fred Ives,' I would wonder if it's a fungal issue from heavy, not well-draining, soil and/or from the plant not receiving the sun it craves. I'd guess a combination of the two. Neither of these plants are indoor plants, and that's likely at the root of the issue. When a succulent that is kept indoors is having issues, its being indoors is usually at the root of the problem; they aren't houseplants. Mr. Beans is getting straggly, also, due to inadequate light. When a plant becomes lanky, with greater distance between the leaves, that's called etiolation, and it happens in much too low of light. The distance between the leaves, on the existing growth, will not shrink with greater light, but any new growth will be improved if the plant has been moved to proper outdoor conditions.