Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
macthayer

Can you divide a Sedum?

macthayer
15 years ago

I have a sedum -- don't know it's name because it came from my best friend's grandmother's garden -- but it's exactly like "Autumn Joy" except the flowers are Lavender. Anyway, it's growing beautifully -- actually TOO well. It's gotten so big that it's outgrown its space, and it's starting to "flop" a bit in the fall. So what do I do? Do you just cut these plants back? Do you divide them? CAN you divide them? If you do divide them, is spring or fall the best time? I've never done this before (as in "duh", as if you couldn't tell!). Any help would be appreciated. MacThayer

Comments (8)

• dufflebag2002
    15 years ago

You certainly can, you can even take leaf tip cutting with about three inches of stem, these are winter growers, liking cool air.
    They will go dormant when it gets hot much like a chrymum, and will need to be trimmed back after they flower. I grew these for a while, but it was just tooooooo hot for them where I live. The last time I looked there where four different colors, each had it's own cv. name. Norma

• merrymerry
    15 years ago

Hmm. I'm not too far from Wisconsin. I divided my "Autumn Joy" this spring into 3 plants and the new plants are doing fine. I think there is some rule about dividing plants in the opposite time that they flower. So fall blooming = spring dividing.

On the other hand, I think these plants are extremely strong, so maybe it won't matter. :D

• macthayer
    Original Author
    15 years ago