Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pandanwaffles

please help with echeveria

pandanwaffles
9 years ago

Hi, I'm a newbie when it comes to succulents so I pretty much have no idea what I'm doing. I bought what I think is some type of echeveria two months ago and decided to repot it about three weeks ago because the pot I bought it in seemed too small for how big the plant had grown. I noticed shortly after repotting that some of the leaves started turning brown and now I'm worried that I've ruined/am killing it by not knowing what I was doing. I used cacti/succulent potting mix and added some tiny pebbles to the mix for extra drainage because I read somewhere to do that. Did I use the wrong type of mix or repot it wrong or maybe it isn't getting enough sun? the roots seemed fine when I looked at them. And it also seems to have stopped turning brown over the past week, which is good, but I'd like to learn now to get this poor plant back to good health and learn how to care for these plants. Also, the plant had a kind of chalky white substance on it and I was wondering if that is supposed to be on it or should I clean it off?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments (17)

• spapa
    9 years ago

Hello! You came to the right place for advice, there are some really experienced growers here :) I can tell you that the brown spots are sunburn; these plants do need lots of light, but when we first purchase them they have often been indoors or in a shaded area and therefore need to be adjusted slowly over the course of a week or two. Putting pebbles in is generally not recommended; there are other substances that better serve the purpose of drainage. If you used a cactus/succulent mix right out of the bag, you will want to at the very least amend that with 50-70% perlite, which should be available at any nursery or hardware store like Home Depot. There are better mixes out there that you can read about on this forum, but that is a good start.