Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetlily_gw

how to rescue my "rescue"

sweetlily
9 years ago

Hi, all. I'm new here and have been enjoying the wealth of information on succulents, and in particular, jade plants. I am new to these types of plants as well as to the forum. .I'm afraid I can't post any pictures. I may be writing waaay too much, but I am trying to answer the Q's I know you might have.

I rescued a pitiful looking (with good "bones") "largish" variegated jade (looks like tricolor--I'm excited; all I have are a reg. jade and a hobbit). It's 16" from base of trunk to top of plant, with 3 main trunks 1/2-3/4 inch diam. and several branches off of all of them. And 16" wide at widest.

The plant was obviously just repotted (in wet, thick dirt). It was very wobbly in its ordinary plastic 6" pot, and an attempt was made to support it with a couple of skinny sticks. I needed to have it bagged rather than in a box to support it on the trip home. The plant in general is "floppy"--not sure if it is because of the heaviness of the many smaller branches, many new-growth, or because when I immediately removed it from the pot and soil, I found a tiny rootball of about 3" diameter. So I would guess that it was rootpruned? Plus it looks like the whole plant was chopped off of a larger specimen because there is just nothing but this tiny rootball at the foot of the trunk. The roots are "thready", not like aloe roots--does that mean they're young or is that what they're always like?