Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emee_gw

succulents

emee
9 years ago

I promised myself I wouldn't ask another dumb question but .....how can plants, such as succulents, live in a mix that is mostly grit, pumice, or perlite?

My many years of gardening experience has been with plants that need fertilizer & rich soil to thrive. This concept of soilless mix just boggles my mind. I love succulents but their care would be neglect for any other plant. Maybe this will eventually feel normal to me. Thanks.

Comments (6)

• DavidL.ca
    9 years ago

I'm no expert but I think that most of these plants are from rocky areas (mostly S. Africa) and even if there's any kind of soil, it's very lean and doesn't have too much nutrients. I think that's why they like grittier soil because all they need is some moisture to suck up and store in their fleshy leaves and that's it.
    I might be just b-sing too, so don't count on me! xD

• emee
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks, sounds logical to me.

• LilBit7765
    9 years ago