Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laureneilleen

Lots of problems with unknown succulent

laureneilleen
10 years ago

Hopefully the photo I've uploaded works. I live in Australia and we've had a relatively dry but dull winter with little sunlight and now spring's come along and it's been awful. I'm new to succulents and basically we haven't had more than 2 days of decent sunlight for well over a month, it's raining constantly and my plants aren't holding up too well. They're all indoors most of the time but outdoors on sunny afternoons to get a few hours of light. I tend to overwater a lot (I baby them way too much) so I've cut it back and I'm just giving them a small amount of water every few weeks. I use a commercial succulent potting mix (I will make up something better when I have the resources) and this one particular plant has actually held up really well considering the circumstances. It has what appear to be aphids (dark green/black tiny round crawly things hiding under all the leaves. It's a pretty major infestation) and very clearly has nowhere near enough light but it's still sprouting new stems constantly and growing fast. I sprayed the plant thoroughly with a diluted detergent mix which got rid of a lot of the problem, and tried to make sure I wiped the stuff off an hour or two later, but it is such a small and delicate plant that it was tricky. The next day so many new sprouts had come through but the leaves are falling off everywhere, probably because it was so heavily watered when I was treating it. I've stuck it in the (heavily overcast and a bit cold and windy) daylight for a bit but I'm guessing there's not much I can do about that issue until summer hits. The main thing I need help with is getting rid of the rest of the quickly respreading bugs without killing the plant, because it's already in such bad shape. I think it's definitely salvageable because it's still growing constantly but I'm not sure, should I maybe give it a really harsh trim so it'