Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
_sbgibbons_

Rooting succulents in water?

_sbgibbons_
9 years ago

So, I was looking at a few different pages on instagram and I saw some people were having amazing success rooting succulent cuttings in water. You are supposed to use a beer, bottle or water bottle or something with a small opening, fill it with water just enough to where it barely touches the end of the cutting and let it sit for a couple of weeks. She said the water will evaporate and you should add more water as this happens.

Have any of you tried this? How were your results? I thought this was a no no, but my roots never come in that thick when I "dry root" them, so I'm interested in trying this. What do y'all think? - Sam :)
{{gwi:633060}}{{gwi:633061}}

Comments (17)

• emee
    9 years ago

I have read that also. Would it work for a leaf cutting? The plants in the picture already look bigger than what I buy that are supposed to have roots. I'm a newbie so I have no advice but I say try it.

• _sbgibbons_
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I imagine it would help the rooting process in a leaf cutting, but I'm not sure if it would help to actually propagate the leaf cutting. I'll probably continue to leaf propagation the slower way because it's always worked for me, but I am definitely going to try this with a cutting or two because I've never had roots that look like that come in!

• Janewt
    9 years ago

I've done that with jade plants, but jade plants will put up with anything.

• Janewt
    9 years ago

(Sorry about the double-post--computer was acting up.)

This post was edited by Janewt on Tue, Sep 9, 14 at 8:13

• dbarron
    9 years ago

Yes, it seems almost cruel to do to a plant that typically is somewhat water intolerant (of too much of it)...I wouldn't if I really wanted the plant to thrive.

It's like...I know you have a water allergy, but I'm going to put you on top of a bottle full of the stuff...you better like it, or else!
    Lol