Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hiddenspring_gw

Good soil mix for repotting Indoor Jade plant (2-3 feet tall)

hiddenspring
10 years ago

We recently got a jade plant from a friend and it's getting top heavy and we need to repot it in a bigger pot. I am looking for a good soil mix, and different sources on this forum have different suggestions. I am not an expert in making my own soil mixes and may not have the time to do something elaborate (which involves buying lots of ingredients :-) But i do want to do spend some time doing close to the best thing out there.

What I am thinking of right now - based on what I have read so far - is 1 inch of pea gravel right at the bottom and the actual soil would be a 1:1 mix of perlite and Miracle-Gro Cactus Palm and Citrus Soil available at Home-Depot. My questions:
1) Does this seem like a reasonable mix? And ok to have pea gravel only right at the bottom?
2) Can I get pea gravel in a small bag from somewhere? Is it available in Target or something? Seems like I may not need as much.

Thanks!

Comments (14)

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    10 years ago

Yes, it sounds like a decent mix, particularly if you sieve the larger chunks of bark out of the soil before you make your mix.

As to the pea gravel, maybe they'd have it - I've never looked for it there.

• hiddenspring
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Josh/ Cactusmcharris - thanks for your response. So here's what I got so far: skip the pea gravel, sieve the larger chunks of bark from miracle-gro, and increase perlite to 70%. Anything else to increase drainage thats easily available at Lowes or Home Depot? Do I need to add any organic matter or just adding some fertilizer pellets should be adequate?