Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
newbie to the forum with new hobby: "fat plants"

Posted by Juan_JImenez_V none (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 7, 13 at 14:19

Hello, I am new to forum.
I have been collecting cactus for a couple of years but after visiting the 2013 intercity cactus and succulent show in Arcadia California for the first time, I got very interested in the caudiciform plants or fat plants, actually I had a couple of them before the show,
see you around.
Juan

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: newbie to the forum with new hobby: "fat plants"

Post some photos! I'm another caudex connoisseur

o

nice plant, here are some of mine,
1st, one of my Adenias Glauca in 8 inch pot

o

here is a picture of Adenia Glauca fruits,
they look delicious. My 3 kids know that they are poisonous.
I will post more pictures of my other fat plats later when I take pictures.

o

ok, here is one of my 4 cyphstemma juttae, actually my favorite one.

o

a bunch of babies.

o

one from my wish list, adenia spinosa

o

cissus tuberosa in 8 inch pot, this one is mine.

o

Very nice, Juan!

o

Fat plants............they're grrrrrrrrreeeeeeeaaaaaatttttt.

o

Wow I love all those fat plants. Is their a particular name for those? I know the ponytail palms are actually succulents. I love those. Is there a name for this group of tree looking succulents that have bulbs on the bottom where they 'retain their water?

o

Fat plants = Caudex forming plant. They can be a xeric shrub, succulents, A xeric tree, or vine. Many are considered succulents since they store water in their caudex's . There are many Many families. We just call them all Fat Plants. I don't care if they are not all true succulents ( I know nothing about the science here). I want to keep talking about them on this form so don't get no movement going to take them somewhere else! Some fat plants ( The adenums have been taken away to their own forum).

o