Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hundredwaters_gw

Help with aloe barberae (?) in SoCal

hundredwaters
10 years ago

Dear Gardenweb Denizens...

I am relatively new to gardening and am mostly focusing on a backyard succulent garden. My wife has a 10 year old aloe barberae (???) in the same pot that we recently moved into the sun on our deck in the hollywood hills of LA. I was hoping someone could answer a few questions as I have come across conflicting information:

1) Does it appear unhealthy in any way - it looks like there is some leaf rot (see pics) or is that normal?

2) What is the recommended watering schedule - heavy watering once weekly in summer and once every 2 week (once per month?) in winter?

3) There has frequently been a trail of ants up the truck, which supposedly has been there many times in the past. Should I worry about them carrying aphids? If so, any recommendations as to what insecticide to get rid of ants and aphids (I assume two different times)? Should I use a systemic insecticide (I have Bonine systemic houseplant insect control)?

4) Does it need to be repotted anytime soon (current pot is 10 years old)? Incidentally, I after moving it from a slightly more shaded part of the patio 6 weeks ago I dug out one side of the pot and shifted the tree straight up as it was off-kilter. No root damage was inflicted that I know of. I assume there is not likely to cause a problem.

Comments (9)

• hundredwaters
    Original Author
    10 years ago

here's a close-up....

• lzrddr
    10 years ago

Any chance you can plant it? I sure would be a LOT happier. Otherwise a pot at least double that size would be nice... bet there is almost NO- soil left in that (break it and you will see a root ball exactly the size and shape of the inside of the pot). Moving these is easy (except the weight and liklihood of branch damage)... root damage is the least of your worries.