Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
djoyofficial

Transplanting wild cacti

djoyofficial
9 years ago

This is my first time posting here in this forum so please bare with me. I have been spending most of my gardening time growing hot chilis, tomatoes, herbs and various types of squash.

I have noticed, while taking walks in the hills above our house, there are a lot of wild cacti growing in the area. I think it would be great to get some growing in a few places around our estate.

Can anyone give me advice on what time of year would be best to attempt some transplanting? What is the best way to transplant a wild cactus? Or should I just try taking some clipping to root?

Thanks for any help or advice.

dj

Comments (7)

• djoyofficial
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I did check with the BLM on this and they are willing to issue a permit for this... Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thnx

dj

• notolover
    9 years ago

Hello,

I have an Opuntia bed in my yard and I live on the fringe of the Great Basin so I can help you a little.

It would be better to wait until spring to plant them because they will be ready to grow like crazy then. Not sure if there is enough time to get them established before the cold sets in so I wouldn't risk it. They may not make it through the winter.

Wild cacti have crazy root systems and may go into shock if you try to move the whole thing. And depending on the size, it could be painful for you :-) And it could be illegal, as well.

Any pictures? You are a little warmer so you can probably grow species I can't. The only native cacti by me are very tiny, but hardy cacti from other places grow like weeds in my beds.

• djoyofficial
    Original Author
    9 years ago