Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indianna_gw

Question for the Jade Pros

IndiAnna
10 years ago

Hello all! I am new to all of this and have spent literally hours upon hours this summer learning from this forum- thank you for all of the wonderful information and for providing a place to nurture my growing obsession!
I have done countless searches on here and on google about spider mites and did not come up with the specific information I am looking for so I hope you pros out there can help me!
First I live in Indiana on the border between zones 5a and 5b, so my plants will be transitioned indoors for the winter over the next few weeks (the temps so far have been in the 50s and mid-upper 40s at night). I ordered an improved meyer lemon tree from Four Winds Growers last Feb. to remind me of the years I lived in San Diego and thus this love affair with tropical plants began. Since then my collection has grown to a handful of jades (my favorites!)- 3 regular crassula ovatas, one crassula ovata hobbit, one very small gollum, and one undulata; as well as two portulacaria afras (elephant plant); and a euphorbia tirrucalli or pencil plant (just to mention the ones which have been kept together on my patio outside this summer). All of my succulents are in Al's gritty mix and I plan on repotting my lemon tree into the 5-1-1 mix next spring.

Earlier in the summer I started seeing some very slight signs of possible spider mites on my lemon tree and so I began researching the subject. Being in Indiana it is difficult to find certain products and having spent quite a bit of money so far ordering supplies online I bought the only neem oil spray I could find in the area- Fungicide3 (.9% neem oil and claims to be for organic gardening- specifically mentions spider mites- 3 in one fungicide, miticide, and insecticide).

Don't worry I'm getting to the jade part of this question!!