Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cghpnd

Simple questions .

cghpnd
10 years ago

This is my first year doing any type of gardening. I had plant lust in the beginning and well I bought about 8 succulent/cactus plants. Simple questions that I should know the answers to, But I want to do this right so I dont kill them during the winter.

All of the succulents/cactus are outside. I have to bring them in for the winter. Now a few of them are still in their original soil they came with ( i didn't get around to changing the soil) and they seem to be doing great.
How do I bring them back in? Like making sure there are no unwanted pest coming in. Do I change the soil?

Im thinking to wash the plants off and change soil. Am I correct?
What do you all do when your bringing them back in?

Comments (4)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

Succulent plants in a really chunky mix that dries very quickly are unlikely to have critters in them at all, it's just not the decomposing environment most soil dwellers seek. Letting them get really dry is what I prefer to do.

Then, I give plants a little drink and if no ant colony comes pouring out, and I don't see any pests on leaves, in they come, resume normal indoor care regime, more water if still thirsty. Fall repotting is something I try to avoid, generally.

If you think something is living in the pot, you can submerge it so the soil is under water, but that's of course risky with most succulents, more of a foliage plant thing. But if done, after about 15 minutes, anything in there will either be suffocated, or will have evacuated.