Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
postpunkgirl

Crassula 'Gollum' - Needs help... and variety questions.

postpunkgirl
12 years ago

Hi all! I'm pretty new to the cacti/succulent forum... spend most of my time in Hoyas... BUT I came across a type of jade that I had been looking for, at Lowes, marked half off. It's a massive adult plant and it was not in great shape, but I could NOT resist!

There are a few babies on the interior that have propogated from leaves, so I'm hopeful that they will survive removed from the parent even if it does not.

I think my first step should be determining how Lowes was killing it. Most of the time with Hoyas it's overwatering... but I'm thinking that because I'm in N Texas... struggling through one of the hottest, driest summers in our history (and it was outside, NOT in the greenhouse area), AND the soil was dry at a bone... That it may just be in need of water and more temperate temperatures.

I'm also confused what type of Crassula Gollum really is. The label said argentea... but online I've seen it called ovata???

Thanks for the newbie succlent help/ course of action to save this awesome bargain bin plant!

~Sara

{{gwi:645801}}

{{gwi:645802}}

{{gwi:645803}}

Comments (23)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

Excellent purchase!
    It is Crassula ovata 'Gollum.' "Argentea" is an older synonym, which is still common.
    It looks as though it's a pot full of good sized trunks. I wouldn't have been able to resist, either.

Rehydrate the soil, and then change the potting mix to something nice and porous.
    It is very healthy otherwise and will come back strong.

Josh

• chuy415
    12 years ago

not too familiar with these, i too have a small one, it's growin like crazy!! but it looks to me its in need of water.... but others here are a lot more knowledgable here on these.. good luck Sara

• puglvr1
    12 years ago

Very nice Gollum PPG!! Great buy at half price.