Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smithjm_gw

Pink Starfish Plant

smithjm
17 years ago

I'm new to these and very intrigued by them. Ebay has a couple different ones for sale, and i'm very tempted to buy, but first I need to know a little about them. I haven't had any luck finding info online. Are they easy to grow? do they require any special care? do they bloom all the time? I appreciate all the advice. Below is a picture of the one for sale.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:650491}}

Comments (11)

• kathi_mdgd
    17 years ago

Have never seen it,but i'd sure like to have one.Sorry i can't help you out.
    Kathi

• pirate_girl
    17 years ago

Hey Smith,

Well, I seem to be your girl lately, so here goes.

They are Stapeliads (don't know which offhand, & fuzzy pic), but pls. search for that name & you'll find PLENTY of info (since you've shown yourself willing to do some research). Particular wealth of info & pix can be had by searching for that name &/or that of Gerry Barad (a master Stapeliad grower & known for such nationwide). I only grow one now, so can't speak at length abt them.

Short answer: Family of Asclepiads (closely related to Huernias, cousins of Hoyas & common milkweed). It may not be especially easy to grow (can be prone to rot & easily overwatered if at wrong time of yr.); may matter if you'll be able to put them outside. Oh, you're in FLA, so I guess so. No, they don't bloom all year 'round (I think mostly in summer/fall).

(PG) Karen

• hirsuta
    17 years ago

Somewhat easy to grow. They bloom in summer (most anyway) and need to be dry & dormant in the winter. They will do well in Florida's heat. Here are a couple of sites. I wouldn't grow them in peat and they are a very favorite of their arch enemy the mealiebug.

http://www.ig-ascleps.org/asclepius.htm
    http://www.cactus-mall.com/stapeliad/index.htm

Hirsuta

• smithjm
    Original Author
    17 years ago