Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jkatz1_gw

Wintering succulents: grow lights or not?

jkatz1
10 years ago

I'm sure there is a thread about this already but I cannot find it!
I recently got about 10 very small cuttings from a succulent nursery, of a wide variety of succulents. They are currently in very well-draining small pots outside, and are just starting to put out root shoots. Temps over the last few days have reached as low as 55 degrees F at night. I am new to succulents and have never wintered any. I've been reading a lot about grow lights, but my question is whether they are necessary. I don't care if my succulents look bad or go dormant over the winter, as long as they are healthy and will be long-lived.
So, are grow lights necessary or will a bright windowsill be sufficient? Is a heated house bad for them in the winter? What about a cold-frame outside? At what point should I bring them inside?

I know it is hard to generalize for such a wide variety of succulents, but just some general tips about when grow lights are appropriate or not would be helpful.

Comments (4)

• cghpnd
    10 years ago

I really cant answer your question or give any advice, but I was about to post a similar question! My goal is just to get them alive in the winter. This is my first year gardening.
    I actually bought indoor lights (advice from someone on the indoor lighting forum)
    because the sun that comes through my window in the winter is not bright long enough.

I mentioned which plants I would have under the lights in the winter and different succulents and cactus were the primary plants and I was told it is good enough but just not to expect much growth.

I know someone will be here shortly to help ya out. Good luck.

• brodyjames_gw
    10 years ago