Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karyn1_gw

Paddle Plant (Kalanchoe thrysiflora)

karyn1
17 years ago

Hi. Can someone give me some tips on the care of a Paddle Plant. I rescued it from my Mother before she has had a chance to kill it. It's a beautiful plant with big red edged leaves. The instructions on the plant said that the more sun the more red the leaves will be. Can I put it in full sun? When should this plant be taken inside. Our first frost usually isn't until mid October.

Karyn

Comments (22)

• growforit
    17 years ago

Hi Karyn,

Even though this plant is one of my favorite succulents, I'm far from an expert on it ----- but I'll tell you my experiences with it.

Right now I have one plant of this that is getting full full sun, it is growing like crazy [big] but the colors are not that strong. I have another that is not getting as much sun = less growth. Both are equal in 'redness'

I think I notice more 'redness' during the winter/spring months with this plant.

Can't help you with the frost/bring inside issue...

If you wanna, copy and paste this info into google search engine :-)

http://www.blossomswap.com/garden-forums/index.php?showtopic=7202

• kathi_mdgd
    17 years ago

Growforit
    Mine looks like yours,we call them pancake plants here.Mine never got as red as the first poster,i wish!!
    Kathi

• karyn1
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Growfruit the color on your plant is fantastic! I wish mine was that color. The one I have is a much darker red and the leaves look bigger. My mother was told to pinch the top off, I'm not sure if that accounts for the leaf size difference. Our temps were predicted to get into the low 40's so I took it in for the night to be on the safe side.
    Karyn

• Denise
    17 years ago

Karyn,