Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
aloe ID

Posted by Microthrix 9 (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 4, 12 at 1:33

Ive had this aloe for about 4 years now, and it has grown nicely, even though it is still a bit small. i had it in a pot for about 3 years, and just last year i put it in the ground.
it seems to be ok with full sun, although it has yellowed a bit in summer. it has pupped prolifically, and has piut out tons of flowers. so any ideas?
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: aloe ID

I am not possitive. Aloe peckii , Aloe mcloughlinii , or a hybrid between A. jucundi and one of those above. I think I am voting for aloe mcloughlinii. My understanding of A pekii is that its markings pale ast enters adulthood. Your rosettes seem crowded and strappier and upward curving instead of firmly outward open rosettes. It might be cultural but it might be a different species too. I am not an expert , just a blabber. Coffee does it to me.

If this is your aaloe. I would be interested in a small pup after awhile.

Here is a site thsat shows how confusing it can be in this corner of aloehood.

Here is a link that might be useful: Confusing striped aloes.

o

now that I have seen true Aloe mcloughliniis from location in Africa, I am pretty sure that is not that, nor does it look like Aloe peckii, which are notoriously sluggish off setters and generally have lost most of the spotting by the time they are in the offsetting stage. Aloe jucundiis are smaller. My guess is the same as 90% of all the similar looking aloes shown- Aloe hemmingii... very typical of this species.

o