Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
corpsmancooper

Question about rooting hormone

CorpsmanCooper
12 years ago

I've never used rooting hormone before and I'm thinking about picking some up today. Obviously I can use it on cuttings but what about leaves I'm trying to root? Also, on the plants that I managed to rot the roots, could I use it on them as well?

Comments (15)

• bikerdoc5968 Z6 SE MI
    12 years ago

As you know there are two major auxins available for use to the general public; Indole-3-butyric acid (IBA) and Napthalacetic acid (NAA). Schultz TakeRoot is one of the commercially available products containing IBA. Rootone is the other containing NAA and a fungicide, Thiram (tetramethylithiuramdisulfide 4.04%. Both are pretty good for rooting cuttings. I have used both and prefer Rootone because of the anti-fungal. I have found just placing leaf cuttings in a warm humid place to callus will usually promote roots of things like Echeveria.... but these are no-brainers anyway.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

I've used Rootone in the past.
    With succulents, the rooting hormone encourages faster callusing, which in turn is what
    leads to new root primordia/roots. If the cuttings are already callused, I wouldn't bother
    with rooting hormone.

Josh

• pirate_girl
    12 years ago

Hi CC (I forgot your name or even if you gave it)

You really don't need to use everything you hear or read about. The particular plants you're rooting root readily enough without it.

Some folks consider rooting hormone unnecessary & a waste of money. Other folks consider the best part of rooting hormone to be the anti-fungal it usually contains. I've since learned cinnamon is an antifungal & can be used for the same purpose (combating fungus, not rooting).

To use rooting hormone on leaves is overkill (assuming they're Jade leaves) & completely unnecessary. What the leaves need most is TIME -- save your money (for other plants, I'm sure).