Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lauren_g_gw

Jade plant problem...I am new to this!

lauren.g
17 years ago

Hi!

I am a plant novice who recently (3 months ago) purchased a small Jade plant. It lives by my patio doors which is a bright area that recieves 1-3 hours of direct sunlight each day. I have been careful not to overwater or mist it since I read that these are common problems caused by over-eager owners. In any event, I have noticed that every few days 1+ leaves have turned yellow and a bit mushy and have fallen off. The rest of the plant seems to be doing well, as the top leaves have a rim of red around them, for example...

Any ideas? Is this normal?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer to a newbie.

Comments (10)

• shapiro
    17 years ago

Lauren: a red rim around the leaves indicates that the plant has received a lot of bright light - our jades spend the winter in the house and the leaves slowly loose their red, then when we put them out on the patio in the summer, the red comes back.

A leaf that turns yellow and mushy... has your jade been exposed to a lot of cold recently? Under normal circumstances in the house, with lots of good light, that should not keep happening.

But I would say: don't worry - jades are pretty well impossible to kill. The only thing you need to be concerned about is to not overwater. We give ours a drink only when the leaves start to look a little wrinkly... a sign that moisture is really low. About 3 or 4 times per winter is plenty. No kidding :)

• Denise
    17 years ago

If all else seems ok, I wouldn't worry too much about it. It could be the shorter days are triggering some shedding, or maybe it's in a drafty spot?

I water mine when they're dry, which averages between 2-3 weeks in winter. I keep mine pretty potbound, so they dry out pretty fast...

Denise in Omaha

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    17 years ago