Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_19698344

Epiphyllum with new growth - What to do now?

User
11 years ago

I was given 3 Epiphyllum cuttings last year. The lady called them 'Lady of the Night'. She said they were not 'Night Blooming Cereus'. I read online that the same plant can go by both of these names. I am very new to growing Epiphyllum and would like some growing guidance.

I have three cuttings in an 8 inch pot.

They sent out new growth last year and all are doing well.

It's starting to send up new growth now and I'm wondering what I need to do as far as feeding and watering and light conditions.

Thanks for your input!

Indiana.Matt

Matthew

Comments (22)

• greenlarry
    11 years ago

Hmm, this is what I got from the Wiki:

The broad-leaved epiphyllum (Epiphyllum oxypetalum) is particularly well-known. It bears large, strongly fragrant flowers that bloom for a single night only.

and
    The plants known as epiphyllum hybrids, epiphyllums or just epis, which are widely grown for their flowers, are artificial hybrids of species within the tribe Hylocereeae, particularly species of Disocactus, Pseudorhipsalis and Selenicereus. In spite of the common name, Epiphyllum species are less often involved.[3]

• Dzitmoidonc
    11 years ago

Keep it warm and watered. It is a growing jungle cactus. Indoor light is pretty crappy this time of year in IN, keep it as close to the window as you can. Epiphyllums can get big, the hybrids not as big. If you are getting a long cylindrical stem, you can cut this when it gets as tall as you want, it doesn't hurt it.

• greenlarry
    11 years ago

Surely these jungle cacti tend to grow in low light situations in the wild, so shade should be ok.

• leahrenee1
    11 years ago

High light, no direct sun

• Dzitmoidonc
    11 years ago