Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lzrddr

some Opuntias in southern California

lzrddr
13 years ago

I am no Opuntia expert, but we sure seem to grow a lot of these down here.. probably not as many as in Arizona. But here are some of the ones I have seen here.

Opuntia aequatorialis

{{gwi:675433}}

Opuntia basilaris

{{gwi:675435}}

Opuntia chlorotica

{{gwi:675437}}

Opuntia cochabambensis

{{gwi:675438}}

Opuntia echios var gigantea

{{gwi:675439}}

Opuntia elata

{{gwi:675440}}

Opuntia ellisiana

{{gwi:675441}}

Opuntia erinacea var ursina

{{gwi:675442}}

Opuntia ficus-indica

{{gwi:675443}}

Opuntia fragilis

{{gwi:675444}}

Opuntia galapagiea

{{gwi:675445}}

Opuntia gosseliana

{{gwi:675446}}

Opuntia helleri

{{gwi:675447}}

Opuntia lanceolata

{{gwi:675448}}

Opuntia englemannia var linguiformis

{{gwi:675449}}

Opuntia littoralis var austrocalifornica

{{gwi:675450}}

Opuntia macrocentra (or violacea v macrocentra)

{{gwi:675451}}

Opuntia microdasys (do NOT touch this one with bare hands!!)

{{gwi:675452}}

Opuntia macrorhiza

{{gwi:675453}}

Opuntia megasperma var mesophytica

{{gwi:675454}}

Opuntia microdasys Funny Bunny

{{gwi:675455}}

Opuntia phaecantha

{{gwi:675456}}

OPuntia pycnantha

{{gwi:675457}}

Opuntia quimilo

{{gwi:675458}}

Opuntia robusta

{{gwi:675459}}

Opuntia rufida

{{gwi:675460}}

Opuntia vulgaris

{{gwi:675461}}

Comments (10)

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

What a wonderful tour, lzddr - thank you for posting so many and so alphabetically, too.

• Marie Tran
    13 years ago

Wow....wonderful...wonderful...beautiful....beautiful...
    thank you for posting.

• marquest
    13 years ago

Beautiful. Thank you for the pics and names.

I grow a few that are hardy for my area. I do not know the names but the flowers in June are very pretty.

• martenfisher
    13 years ago