Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ercd_gw

Echeveria cristata 'Wooly Rose'

ercd
13 years ago

my wooly rose cactus' (echeveria cristata) stem has turned entierly redish. some parts of the stem are a vibrant white. the leaves also almost all have black tips exept for the the top ones which have a nice white hairs. on one or two leaves their are black spots that sor of crust over. im new to cacti and cannot find much info on this particular one.

is this fungus or natural.

i also recently repotted it but the root system never took hold in the previous pot.

thanks for any help anyone can provide

Comments (8)

• paracelsus
    13 years ago

It's not a cactus. and there are some other problems with the name you gave. A search for that common name showed that 'Wooly Rose' = Echeveria 'Doris Taylor'. Cristata means crested, a growth point mutation.

Hard to say what's going on without a picture, but your comment "the root system never took hold" is alarming. A recent repot is often the cause of fungal infection, particularly if watered too soon or often. Are you growing inside or out? What is your soil? It should be at least 50% inorganic materials like pumice, gravel, perlite, but no sand, and free-draining.

There are ways to save the plant if fungus has attacked the roots and stem. Cut across the stem above where you think there is infected tissue in 1/8 inch increments towards the growth point until no dark colored infected tissue remains in the cross-section. Dry the cut in air for three or more days to callous the end, and then plant in DRY soil and don't water until you see new top growth. It will take some time for new roots to form, be patient.